12 Comments
Dec 22, 2021Liked by Mike Lewis

Mike, while my level of agreement with Larry Chapp’s piece is lower than yours, the actual number is not that important. While I do give Larry credit for being more objective and better balanced than other theologians favoring the traditionalist position, I still find it too heavy on entitlement and extremely light on obedience; especially obedience to the one entrusted with the keys to the kingdom. I don’t mean to be dismissive of Larry’s credentials, but when it comes to religion and points of view in disagreements with vested authority, faith in God’s promises always wins. No doubt the wise and learned will see this as simple minded, but that's fine with me.

Expand full comment

Hello, Mike. I used to frequent the old combox at WPI and then later, for a time, the SmartCatholics group. A mutual friend recently mentioned that you've got a Substack, so I thought I'd drop by and see your content. Something I noticed about the younger traditionalists in my former R&R circle is that they were often more willing to consider sedevacantism, whereas the older members were insistent that they could judge everything about the pope EXCEPT whether he was the pope. That was above their pay grade, they told me. It eventually shattered my confidence in their call to resist, as it struck me as so obviously absurd and ridiculous. It became like talking to a brick wall.

Expand full comment

He is a brother and we must guide him to the fullness of truth. Also to make him aware that disobedience is the wrong path! No matter how many credentials he uses after his name.

Expand full comment

Thanks Mike for sharing Chapp’s insightful post and your considered response. Regrettably, misogyny, racism and other phobias/prejudices are disproportionately represented in the Trad scene. The radicalisation of the Trad community has certainly telescoped since 2017. What were once minority and unhinged takes on the sedevacantist ‘Traditio’ site in the late 1990s / early 2000s are now commonplace beliefs and understandings of a majority of the Trad faithful. Indeed, the views held by the secular leaders of the Trad movement (mostly UK and US based) have moved beyond SSPX submissions and are (whether knowingly or unknowingly) standard SSPV talking points.

Expand full comment

Mike, thanks for sharing, I’ve only started reading you recently and it was nice to find that we have a similar background, I thought incorrectly it seems from reading your Twitter that you were far to the left of me. I had a similar positive response to Francis, because I needed a lot of what he was preaching about, plus I had a gut feeling that most of the things that annoyed me ( Catholics aren’t rabbits, etc) were in a missionary desire to win Catholics back to the faith. I’ve soured on him somewhat recently because I get the sense that he doesn’t even try to understand conservative types like me, who are very open to liking him. I get the sense that some of this is his life experience dealing with reactionary types on the right in his home country, but it just seems he’s dealing with a caricature of the right and not the real thing, and that does a lot of harm, in fact it seems directly opposed to his own views of accompanying and listening

Expand full comment